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Orange County Family Law Court 

Family Centered Case Resolution Protocol   

 

A. Overview:  

1. This protocol sets forth the provisions for the Court to manage family 
law cases by utilizing family centered case resolution pursuant to 
Family Law Code sections 2450(a) and 2451, California Rule of Court 
5.83, and Local Rule 701.1.   

B. Family Centered Case Resolution Plan:  
 

Step 1 – At 180 days 
 

Cases are noticed for failure to meet case milestones which include one or 
more of the following: 

 
a) No future hearing date has been set; 
b) No default has been entered or received; 
c) No response has been filed; 
d) No judgment has been entered or received (bifurcated issue as to 

status only judgment is excluded);  
e) No collaborative or privately compensated private judge agreement; 

 
The Case Review Notification will be sent to parties and include information 
regarding CRC 5.83, why the party is receiving notice, details on how-to 
request a Status Conference, and resources available for self-represented 
litigants. 
 

Step 2 – At 330 days 
 

Cases are noticed for failure to meet case milestones which include one or 
more of the following and are scheduled for a Status Conference: 
 

a)      No future hearing date has been set; 
b) No default has been entered or received; 
c) No response has been filed; 
d) No judgment has been entered or received (bifurcated issue as to 

status only judgment is excluded);  
e) No collaborative or privately compensated private judge agreement; 
 
 
At the Status Conference, unassigned cases will be calendared before a 
temporary judge and assigned cases will be calendared in the designated 
courtroom.  Parties may receive referral information, case management 
orders and if unassigned, an assignment to a judicial officer. 
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If a Judgment or a dismissal has been entered no less than ten (10) days 
prior to the Status Conference, an appearance is not required at the 
conference and the matter shall be taken off calendar. 
 

The Status Conference notice will include information regarding CRC 5.83, 
and an admonishment that failure to move the case forward will require future 
mandatory appearances. 
 

Note: Represented parties may appear through their attorneys only. 
 
 

Step 3 – At 500 days 
 

Cases are noticed for failure to meet case milestones which include one or 
more of the following and are scheduled for a Case Resolution Conference: 
   

a)      No future hearing date has been set; 
b) No default has been entered or received; 
c) No response has been filed; 
d) No judgment has been entered or received (bifurcated issue as to 

status only judgment is excluded);  
e) No collaborative or privately compensated private judge agreement; 

 
At the Case Resolution Conference, unassigned cases will be calendared 
before a temporary judge and assigned cases will be calendared in the 
designated courtroom.  Parties may receive referral information, case 
management orders and if unassigned, an assignment to a judicial officer.   
 
If a Judgment or a dismissal has been entered no less than ten (10) days 
prior to the Status Conference, an appearance is not required at the 
conference and the matter shall be taken off calendar. 
 
 
Step 4 – At 547 days 

At 547 days, pursuant to California Rule of Court 5.83, the Court is relieved 
from case management obligations. 


