SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ORANGE
Petition for Relief under Penal Code §1203.4 & 81203.4a & §1203.41
Information and Instructions

General Information:

After successful completion of probation, or if not placed on probation, any time after the lapse of one year
from the date of the pronouncement of judgment, you may petition the court to dismiss the charges under
Penal Code 81203.4. After successful completion of mandatory supervision, or if not placed on mandatory
supervision, any time after the lapse of two years from the date of the pronouncement of judgment, you may
petition the court to dismiss the charges under Penal Code 81203.41. Ifitis in the interest of justice, the
judicial officer may allow you to file the petition before probation ends.

e Disclosure — Granting of this petition does NOT relieve you of the responsibility to disclose the
conviction in response to any direct question as part of any questionnaire or application for public
office, for licensure by any state or local agency, or for contracting with the California State Lottery.

o Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) — Granting of this petition does NOT affect DMV actions or
future consequences for crimes involving operation of a motor vehicle.

¢ Firearms — Granting of this petition does NOT permit you to own, possess, or have in your custody or
control any firearm.

e Sealing — Granting of this petition does NOT seal your record. The case, including the conviction will
remain public record.

e Sex Registration — Granting of petition does NOT relieve you from any obligation to register under
Penal Code §290.

This information is for general use and not intended as full and comprehensive instruction governing the laws
and rules relating to relief granted under Penal Code §1203.4. For further information you may refer to Penal
Code §81203.4 and §1203.4a and §1203.41 or you may wish to seek legal assistance.

Instructions:
NOTE: Clerks cannot advise or give assistance in the completion of this petition.

If your case has been destroyed pursuant to Government Code 868153, you must provide the court
with either a copy of the probation order or the criminal history record from the California Department
of Justice (RAP sheet).

1. Complete the form, Petition for Relief under Penal Code §1203.4, §1203.4a, 1203.41. (Incomplete
forms will not be filed and will be returned for correction.)

2. A copy of the petition must be mailed or delivered to the District Attorney or City Attorney who
prosecuted your case. Proof of service is required.

3. If mailed, the person mailing must complete the Proof of Service, see page 2 of the petition. If
delivered, the prosecutor may acknowledge its receipt by stamping the original petition to be delivered
to the court.

4, Return the original petition and the completed Proof of Service (if prosecutor was notified by mail) to
the Criminal Operations Department of the Justice Center in which your case is filed.

5. A reimbursement cost of $120.00 for a petition pursuant to Penal Code 1203.4 and 1203.41 or $60.00
for a petition pursuant to Penal Code 1203.4a is to be submitted with each petition OR Judicial
Council Form MC-210 — Defendant’s Financial Statement must be submitted if the petitioner chooses
to have the court determine his/her ability to pay the reimbursement cost pursuant to the standards
set forth in Penal Code 987.8(g)(2). The completed form should be submitted with the original petition.
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